The Flood – Part 2

The door slips from my fingers and slams behind me. I cringe at the noise, but the house remains quiet. The kitchen is dim with only the small light over the sink on. Colourful flashes and low music are coming from the living room. I pop my head in to see Zoe curled up on the couch, thumbs tapping away at the screen of her phone.

“Hi Sweetie.”

She doesn’t look up, “Hi Dad.”

“Tess already in bed?”

“Yeah, she went up half an hour ago.”

“Did she brush her teeth?”

“Yeah.”

“Good, thank you.”

I’m careful to avoid the worst of the loose boards as I climb the staircase. Tess is in bed, head turned away from the lamp on her nightstand. The journal is open across her chest, rising and falling with each shallow breath. I kneel beside her and reach out for the journal. Her eyes flash open and I freeze.

“Hi Dad.”

I pull my arm back, “Hi baby. Did you have a good day at school?”

“Yeah. We made Father’s Day gifts today. You have to wait until Father’s Day to get it though.” She smiles wide, tongue poking through the gap in her teeth.

“I guess I’ll just have to wait then.” I smile and kiss her cheek, “Love you.”

“Love you too.” Tess wraps her hands around the journal and closes her eyes. I pull the string on the lamp and ease my way out of the room, closing the door behind me.

 

*******

 

Wonder what’s going on? Start here -> The Flood – Prologue

 

One thought on “The Flood – Part 2

Leave a Reply

