The Flood – Part 3

It’s Sunday morning. That means Tess was up at six, that she got dressed in her favourite outfit, and made herself breakfast with whatever box of cereal she could reach. Now she’s standing in front of me, holding the journal close to her, just like every Sunday.

“Morning baby.”

“Morning Dad.

She’s watching me, waiting for me to ask. “How is Grandma this morning?”

Tess smiles and clutches the journal tighter, “She’s good. It’s eight o’clock, time to get up.”

“Okay, I’ll be down soon.”

“We need to make sure we leave in time, so we’re back before Mom comes.”

“I know baby. Just need to wake up a little.”

“Okay.” Tess skips to the open doorway, but turns before going through. “Don’t fall back asleep.”

“I won’t”

“Promise?”

“Cross my heart.”

She gives me a tight lipped nod and then disappears.

Sunday is the day we go to visit Grandma. Except Tess carries Grandma around with her every waking moment. She’ll spend hours a day talking to the journal. At the cemetery, Tess will stand in front of Emily’s headstone, not saying a word. I don’t pretend to understand it.

I turn over and reach for my phone. It is in fact only seven fifty five. More concerning is the text from Janine that was sent only a few hours ago. She’s not coming. Something came up. She asks me to tell Zoe and Tessa that she’ll make it up to them. Sure I will. Just like every Sunday.

 

*******

 

Wonder what’s going on? Start here -> The Flood – Prologue

One thought on “The Flood – Part 3

Leave a Reply

