The Flood – Part 4

There’s enough coffee in the pot to top up John’s mug and fill one for myself. I hand him his cup as I sit on the front porch. Tess is off picking wild flowers and tormenting the cats. Zoe just got back from hanging out with her friends, but she sneaks around to the side door. Still doesn’t want to talk I guess.

It’s been a long day. John and I take a moment to listen to the birds and watch the few wisps of cloud drift by.

“Looks like it’ll be a nice night.”

“Sure does.”

“Listen, John. I just want to say that, you know, I probably don’t say it enough, but I really appreciate you letting us stay. Giving us a home, especially after everything you went through with Janine, and Emily…”

John is quiet. I’m scared to look at him. Instead I focus on a dragonfly weaving through the long grass at the end of the walk.

“Listen, whatever happened, whatever path Janine chose, you and those girls are my family. There’s nothing more important than that.”

So that’s that. Nothing else needs to be said I guess.

John drops a hand on my knee. It’s an awkward gesture that means more than he knows.

“Tell the girls I said good night. Happy Father’s Day Daniel.”

John heads off toward the barn. I think about calling out, to return the sentiment. Instead I wipe at my face with my forearm, waiting for the tears to stop.

 

*******

 

Wonder what’s going on? Start here -> The Flood – Prologue

 

One thought on “The Flood – Part 4

Leave a Reply

