The Flood – Part 17

sergio-rola-29275d

We’re out of food. Any trees that are still above water have all turned black. Even the bloody sky is wrong.  Oh, and we’re being stalked by some unseen creature that may or may not want us as a snack. Everything sucks. Every. Single. Thing. I don’t know how much longer I can do this.

I’m trying to stay as low as possible but still keep an eye on the water. So far there’s no sign of movement. This strikes me as being both good and bad. Sure, we’re not being terrorized at the moment, but there’s nothing else out there either. No Ducks, no gulls. They’re all gone.

I huddle back down in the boat and pull a blanket up to my chin. For the first time in my life I’m truly scared about not being able to keep the girls safe. Without that, what good am I?

Tess is holding the journal close. Her eyes are half closed, she’s just staring at the floor of the boat. Zoe is running her fingers along a length of rope, back and forth. She’s shaking. I can see tears forming in the corners of her eyes.

“Dad, what are we supposed to do?”

“I… I have no idea. I really don’t.”

“We have to do something. We have to at least try…”

“I don’t know! Stop it! Please!”

Zoe turns away, her hands covering her face. Tess shifts over to sit with her sister, staring me down through wet eyes. Shit…

 

*******

 

Wonder what’s going on? Start here -> The Flood – Prologue

 

 

Leave a Reply

